Fair Housing Center of West Michigan


Fair Housing Awards

We are accepting nominations for the 2020 Fair Housing Award!  Please download and fill out this form and return it to our office on or before April 3, 2020.

Each year the Center hosts the Fair Housing Luncheon & Workshop Series.  During the luncheon the Center presents the Fair Housing Awards.  This award is given to individuals, business and/or organizations that have made significant contributions to the progress of open housing in West Michigan.  In previous years, the awards have been presented to:

2019       Tim Reimink

2018       All Event Attendees, as a celebration of the 50th Anniversary of the Fair Housing Act

2017       Suzanne Schulz

2016       Marlene Cain; Hon. Benjamin Logan

2015       Jonathan Bradford; Dave Jacobs; Tonya Robinson  

2014       Tracie Coffman; Miriam Reyes

2013       Sue Ortiz; Kendra Vanderlip            

2012       Holly Sturges (Fair Housing Advocate Award); Chemical Bank

2011       Kimberly Spring; Land & Co.

2010       Krystle Gist; Michigan Department of Civil Rights

2009       Judy Barnes of the Home & Building Association of Greater Grand Rapids;

               Area Agency on Aging of Western Michigan

2008       Joel Dye of City of Holland; Michigan Association of Realtors

2007       Dave Allen of Lighthouse Communities; Home Repair Services; JP Morgan Chase;

               Curtis Sall of Hearthstone Development - Lakeshore

2006       Donald Pruss, in memoriam; Betty Zylstra; Grand Rapids Association of Realtors;

               Gail Harrison - Lakeshore

2005       Lou Berra; Bill Hoyt & the City of Grand Rapids Planning Department;

               Heartland Builders

2004       Ruth Jones; Kathi Harris & Fred Mackraz

2003       Jack Hoffman; Disability Advocates - David Bulkowski (Executive Director),

               Robert Upton, Grand Rapids Equal Opportunity Dept., WZZM Channel 13 - Chris Tye

2001       Charlotte Anderson; Cities of Grand Rapids, Kentwood and Wyoming

2000       Jeanine Bryant; Denny Sturtevant, Executive Director of Dwelling Place

1999       Lee Nelson Weber, former Executive Director

1998       Mick McGraw, Eastbrook Builders

1997       Richard Arasmith, former member, Board of Directors

1996       Carol Townsend, founding member

1995       Zoraida Sanchez, former member, Board of Directors

1994       Minority Realtors Action Group

1993       Bill Hardiman; Paul Mayhue; Ann Schreuder-Kelly; John Markosky

Selection(s) are made by the FHCWM based upon the nominee’s contributions as demonstrated and/or described in the form, and their relationship to the mission and goals of the Fair Housing Center of West Michigan. Please call 616-451-2980 or email contact-us@fhcwm.org if you have any questions.

Site Directory

Connect With Us

20 Hall Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49507

Phone: 616-451-2980
Toll-free: 866-389-FAIR
Fax: 616-451-2657

Se habla español.